Health and Social Care

Health and Social Care is taught at KS4 and KS5.


  • Investigate the application of theory and information to the practicalities of everyday working life
  • Develop many of the essential themes in employment and working with others: Communication skills, Health and Safety, Diversity, Equality of Opportunities
  • Develop knowledge and understanding by investigating human development and wellbeing through aspects of Health, Health Promotion, Life Events and Relationships
  • Apply a background of essential skills for future careers, studies and lives in society


Areas of Study at KS4:

OCR Level 2 (equivalent to 1 GCSE).  Awarded a grade from Distinction* - Pass (equivalent to A* - C).

Four Units are studied over 3 years (Years 9, 10, 11):

  • Essential Values of Care for use with Individuals in Care Settings
  • Communicating and Working with Individuals in Health, Social Care and Early Years Settings
  • Understanding Life Stages
  • Understanding the Development and Protection of Young Children in an Early Years Setting


Each Unit is worth 25% towards your final grade.  One Unit is externally assessed (examination); the other three Units are by completing coursework.


Areas of Study at KS5:

BTEC Level 3 Diploma (2 A Levels) and Extended Diploma (3 A Levels) over 2 years. 

Units studied for the Diploma:

  • Human Lifespan Development (Examined Unit)
  • Working in Health and Social Care (Examined Unit)
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
  • Sociological Perspectives
  • Enquiries into Current Research (External Assessment)
  • Work Experience
  • Principles of Safe Practice
  • Promoting Public Health


Additional Units studied for the Extended Diploma:

  • Anatomy and Physiology (Examined Unit)
  • Psychological Perspectives
  • Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs
  • Physiological Disorders and their Care
  • Assessing Children’s Development Support Needs


All these topics can be applied to many career and study choices. 



  • Externally set and marked tests – current rules allow students up to 3 opportunities to pass each Examination.
  • Coursework – via set Assignment tasks.  Internally marked, then moderated by representatives from BTEC, the Examination Board.

The Units of work studied are based on current legislation and apply to many other occupational or employment environments, giving students a holistic understanding of the laws that impact on their future working lives.


Skills You will Develop:

  • Think and act as an independent learner
  • Increase skills in the assessment, evaluation and analysis of information
  • Ability to manage your own workload and meet timely deadlines
  • Develop competency in the ability to research and use the information purposefully
  • Select and create evidence from information to meet specific requirements
  • Apply legislation and known information to every day working environments
  • Develop effective communication skills


How to Succeed:

  • Attendance to all lessons
  • Complete all homework/coursework deadlines consistently
  • Speak to your teacher if you have to miss a lesson and collect the work missed
  • Support Sessions – there is always at least one designated support session each week when students can meet a member of the Department team, for guidance with work or in managing the workload.


We also deliver Level 1 and Level 2 OCR Cambridge Technical Health and Social Care courses that promote very good pathways to the Level 3 courses and Further / Higher Education for our students.

Units comprise:

  • Communication in Health and Social Care
  • Individual Rights in Health and Social Care
  • Individual Needs in Health and Social Care
  • Ensuring Safe Environments in Health and Social Care
  • Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care
  • Human Lifespan Development
  • Health and Social Care Services
  • The Impact of Diet on Health

useful links